Twitch

Kings World Cup format and rules

The kick-off of the Kings World Cup has been given. And much to the delight of French fans, the Foot2Rue won its first match. If you followed the match, you may not have understood everything, as the rules are so numerous and sometimes complex. To help you follow the forthcoming clashes more closely, here are a few suggestions an explanation of the formata summary of how a match works, and jokers recap available.


What is the Kings World Cup?

The Kings World Cup is an international football competitionwhich is derived from Gérard Piqué's Kings League. It brings together no fewer than 32 teams for some unusual matches, 7 against 7. Ten teams come from the Spanish Kings Leagueten from the American Kings League and the last twelve from the rest of the world. The stakes are colossal, since the winning team will receive $1 million.

The tournament takes place from 26 May to 8 Juneon which date the final at the Estadio BBVAin Mexico. The entire event will be broadcast live on the official Twitch channel and those of the content creators involved. The teams are managed by personalities from the web and the world of sport. This first edition is sponsored by Zlatan Ibrahimović himself.

What makes the Kings World Cup unique is that the teams are not professional teams. In fact, the teams are made up of ordinary people, selected by the chairmen, as well as two or three professional players. For Franceis the streamer AmineMaTue who takes on this role.


Kings World Cup format

The Kings World Cup is divided in two stages Phase 1 and the Knockout phase. The first stage is a bit special, so we'll go into more detail in the next paragraph.

Kings World Cup format and Bracket
The overall format of the Kings World Cup 2024
  • Phase 1 operation - Swiss system phase

Round 1
32 teams
No eliminations

Round 2
16 teams in the Winner's bracket
16 teams in the Loser bracket
8 teams eliminated
8 teams qualify for the next stage

Last Chance
16 teams
8 teams eliminated
8 teams qualify for the next stage

The first phase of the Kings World Cup comprises a total of 40 matchesThere are three main stages: Round 1, Round 2 and the Last Chance. The objective couldn't be simpler: get two wins before accumulating 2 defeats.

In Round 1The 32 teams play a single match. If they win, they move up to the Winner's bracket in Round 2, otherwise they fall into the Loser's bracket.

Round 2The eight winners of the Bracket Winner qualify directly for the Knockout phase. The losers of the Bracket Winner and the winners of the Bracket Loser are grouped together for the final stage. Those who lose in the Bracket Loser are eliminated from the tournament for good.

At the Last ChanceThere are only 16 teams left. As the name suggests, it offers teams a last chance to qualify for the rest of the competition. Teams that lose their match are eliminated from the tournament.

  • How the Knockout phase works

This stage is the most intense of the competition, as it aims to determine the two finalists. It is divided into four stages These are the Round of 16, the Quarter-finals, the Semi-finals and the Final. Each match is a play-off.

The round of 16 features the top sixteen teams from the previous phase : the eight teams qualified via Round 2 and the eight teams qualified via the Last Chance. The number of teams competing is reduced at each stage.

The team that wins the Final will be crowned Champion of this first edition and will receive the $1 million prize.


Understanding the rules of the Kings World Cup

The Kings World CupPas is not just another football competitionnot only because the matches are played 7 against 7, but also and above all because there are very specific rules to spice up the game and add a bit of fun. With all the subtleties, it's not easy to understand everything, so we've prepared a quick recap of what can happen during the match.

About the course of a match

Kings World Cup matches are all divided into two 20-minute periodsAdditional time may be added if necessary. If the score is tied after 38 minutes, the match continues with the But Double account effect. And if the two teams still have to settle the tie at the end of regulation time, the match continues with a classic penalty shoot-out.

About the first five minutes

The first five minutes of the game are quite unusual in that they set up the match. Initially, only one player from each team is on the pitch, in addition to the goalkeeper. After that, it's all over, the team is growing by the minute. This means that the match goes from 3vs3 after one minute of play - there is no 2v2 - to 4v4 after two minutes, to 7v7 in the fifth minute. Thereafter, if there are no restrictions in place, players can be replaced at any time, without limit.

About the dice at the end of the first half

Two minutes before the end of the first half, a die is rolled. The number that appears corresponds to the number of players who will remain on the pitch in each team. For example, if the number 3 falls, the match continues as 3v3 and if it's 6, it's 6v6.

About penalties

As in a normal football match, players can be penalised by a yellow card or a red card.

  • Yellow card: 2-minute temporary exclusion. If there is not enough time left in the period, the rest of the time is carried over to the next period. If a player receives a second yellow card, he also receives a red card.
  • Red card: permanent expulsion of the player penalised, but he may be replaced 5 minutes later.

All Jokers for Kings World Cup matches

Jokers are what make Kings League matches so exciting. A joker is a secret weapon that gives an advantage for the team using it. Each team has only one joker per game, which is drawn at random by the coacha few minutes before kick-off. A joker may be used at any time during the match, except during the last two minutes of play.

Here is the list of all available jokers and their effects :

  • Double goal Each goal counts double for 4 minutes.
  • Suspension The team chooses an opponent (except the goalkeeper) who must be out for 4 minutes.
  • Shootout Penalty shoot-out: the team gets a penalty shoot-out, which works in the same way as the end-of-match shoot-out.
  • Penalty kick The team wins a standard penalty.
  • Star player Goal: The coach chooses a player from the team. His first goal counts double.
  • Joker Bonus: the team can choose which bonus to use or decide to cancel the opponent's bonus.
  • President's shot Penalty kicks: before the match, the team presidents can choose to kick a penalty kick during the match.

To follow the matches of the French team, called Foot2Rue, go to AmineMaTue's Twitch channel.

en_GBEN

Twitch

Format et règles de la Kings World Cup

Le coup d’envoi de la Kings World Cup a été donné. Et pour le plus grand bonheur des supporters français, la team Foot2Rue a remporté son premier match. Si vous avez suivi la rencontre, il est possible que vous n’ayez pas tout compris, tant les règles sont nombreuses et parfois complexes. Afin de vous permettre de mieux suivre les affrontements à venir, on vous propose une explication du format, un résumé du fonctionnement d’un match et un récap des jokers disponibles.


C’est quoi la Kings World Cup ?

La Kings World Cup n’est autre qu’une compétition de football internationale, dérivée de la Kings League de Gérard Piqué. Elle réunit pas moins de 32 équipes pour des matchs atypiques, en 7 contre 7. Dix teams sont issues de la Kings League espagnole, dix autres de la Kings League américaine et les douze dernières proviennent du reste du monde. L’enjeu est colossal, puisque l’équipe victorieuse recevra 1 millions de dollars.

Le tournoi se déroule du 26 mai au 8 juin prochain, date à laquelle aura lieu la finale à l’Estadio BBVA, au Mexique. Tout l’évènement est retransmis en direct sur la chaîne Twitch officielle et celles des créateurs de contenu impliqués. En effet, les équipes sont gérées par des personnalités du Web et du monde du sport. Cette première édition est parrainée par Zlatan Ibrahimović lui-même.

Ce qui rend la Kings World Cup unique réside dans le fait que les équipes ne sont pas des équipes professionnelles. En faite, les teams sont composées de personnes lambdas, sélectionnées par les présidents, ainsi que de deux ou trois joueurs pros. Pour la France, c’est le streamer AmineMaTue qui endosse ce rôle.


Format de la Kings World Cup

La Kings World Cup est divisée en deux temps : la Phase 1 et la phase de Knockout. La première étape est un peu particulière, nous allons donc rentrer dans les détails avec le paragraphe suivant.

Format et Bracket de la Kings World Cup
Le format global de la Kings World Cup 2024
  • Fonctionnement de la phase 1 – Phase à système suisse

Round 1
32 équipes
Pas d’éliminations

Round 2
16 équipes dans le bracket Winner
16 équipes dans le bracket Loser
8 équipes éliminées
8 équipes qualifiées pour la suite

Last Chance
16 équipes
8 équipes éliminées
8 équipes qualifiées pour la suite

La première phase de la Kings World Cup comporte un total de 40 matchs, répartis en trois grandes étapes : le Round 1, le Round 2 et le Last Chance. L’objectif est on ne peut plus simple : obtenir deux victoires avant d’accumuler 2 défaites.

Lors du Round 1, les 32 équipes jouent 1 seul match. Si elles gagnent, elle montent dans le bracket Winner au Round 2, sinon elles tombent dans le bracket Loser.

Lors du Round 2, les huit gagnantes dans le Bracket Winner se qualifient directement pour la phase de Knockout. Les perdantes du Bracket Winner et les gagnantes du Bracket Loser sont regroupées pour la dernière étape. Celles qui perdent dans le Bracket Loser sont définitivement éliminées du tournoi.

Lors du Last Chance, il n’y a plus que 16 équipes. Comme son nom l’indique, il offre aux équipes une dernière chance de se qualifier pour la suite de la compétition. Les équipes qui perdent leur match sont éliminées du tournoi.

  • Fonctionnement de la phase de Knockout

Cette étape est la plus intense de la compétition, puisqu’elle vise à déterminer les deux finalistes. Elle est divisée en quatre étapes : les huitièmes de finale, les quarts, les demies et la Finale. Chaque match est éliminatoire.

Les huitièmes de finale regroupent les seize meilleures équipes de la phase précédente : les huit équipes qualifiées via le Round 2 et les huit qualifiées grâce au Last Chance. Le nombre d’équipes en lice est réduit à chaque étape.

L’équipe qui remporte la Finale sera sacrée Championne de cette première édition et recevra la récompense de 1 million de dollars.


Comprendre les règles de la Kings World Cup

La Kings World CupPas n’est pas une compétition de football comme les autres, non seulement parce que les matchs sont joués à 7 contre 7, mais aussi et surtout parce qu’il y a des règles bien particulières pour pimenter la partie et apporter un peu de fun. Avec toutes les subtilités, ce n’est pas simple de tout comprendre, alors on a préparé un petit récap de ce qui peut se passer au cours du match.

A propos du déroulé d’un match

Les matchs de la Kings World Cup sont tous divisés en deux périodes de 20 minutes, avec du temps additionnel si nécessaire. S’il y a égalité après 38 minutes de jeu, le match se poursuit avec l’effet But compte Double. Et s’il faut encore départager les deux teams à la fin du temps règlementaire, la rencontre se poursuit par une séance de pénaltys tout à fait classique.

A propos des cinq premières minutes

Les cinq premières minutes de jeu sont tout à fait singulières, puisqu’elles permettent la mise en place du match. Au départ, il n’y a qu’un seul joueur de chaque équipe, en plus du gardien, sur le terrain. Puis, de minute en minute, l’équipe s’agrandit. Comprenez par là que la rencontre passe par un 3vs3 après une minute de jeu – il n’y a pas de 2v2 -, puis par un 4v4 à deux minutes de jeu, jusqu’à un 7v7 à la cinquième minute de jeu. Par la suite, s’il n’y a aucune restriction en cours, les joueurs peuvent être remplacés n’importe quand, et de façon illimitée.

A propos du dé en fin de première période

Deux minutes avant la fin de la première période, un dé est lancé. Le chiffre qui s’affiche correspond au nombre de joueurs qui resteront sur le terrain dans chaque équipe. Par exemple, si c’est le chiffre 3 qui tombe, le match se poursuit en 3v3 et si c’est 6, c’est du 6v6.

A propos des sanctions

Comme dans un match de football classique, les joueurs peuvent être sanctionnés par un carton jaune ou bien un carton rouge.

  • Carton jaune : exclusion temporaire de 2min. S’il ne reste pas assez de temps dans la période, le reste du temps est reporté sur la période suivante. Si un joueur reçoit un deuxième carton jaune, il écope d’un rouge par la même occasion.
  • Carton rouge : expulsion définitive du joueur sanctionné, mais il peut être remplacé 5min plus tard.

Tous les Jokers des matchs de la Kings World Cup

Les Jokers sont ce qui fait des matchs de Kings League des rencontres palpitantes. Un joker est une arme secrète qui donne un avantage à l’équipe qui l’utilise. Chaque team ne possède qu’un seul joker par partie, qui est tiré au hasard par le coach, quelques minutes avant le coup d’envoi. Un joker peut être utilisé à n’importe quel moment du match, sauf durant les deux dernières minutes de jeu.

Voici la liste de tous les jokers disponibles et leurs effets :

  • Double but : chaque but compte double pendant 4 minutes.
  • Suspension : l’équipe choisit un adversaire (sauf le gardien) ; il doit sortir pendant 4 minutes.
  • Shootout : l’équipe obtient une séance de pénalty, qui fonctionne comme celle de fin de fin match.
  • Tir de pénalty : l’équipe obtient un pénalty standard.
  • Joueur star : l’entraineur choisit un joueur dans l’équipe. Son premier but compte double.
  • Joker : l’équipe peut choisir le bonus qu’elle souhaite utiliser ou décider d’annuler celui de l’adversaire.
  • Tir du président : en amont du match, les présidents des équipes peuvent choisir de tirer un penalty au cours de la rencontre.

Pour suivre les matchs de l’équipe française, baptisée Foot2Rue, rendez-vous sur la chaîne Twitch d’AmineMaTue.

fr_FRFR