Twitch

AlphaCast, HyP and Lutti say goodbye to Overwatch

It is the end of an era! OverwatchOverwatch 1 is now inaccessible. Its servers closed on October 3rd at 6pm in preparation for the release of Overwatch 2. This was an opportunity for AlphaCast, Lutti, HyP and all those who have been marked by Blizzard's FPS to bid it farewell live.

Overwatch was announced in 2014 for a 2016 release. It was particularly anticipated by gamers from all walks of life thanks to Blizzard's aura and a well-crafted marketing campaign. A craze that made the title extremely popular on the networks and propelled careers on Twitch and YouTube, both on the side of players and commentators and analysts.

AlphaCast was able to play both. He was making Guild Wars 2 content with his sidekick Sansu on O'Gaming before dedicating his content to Star Citizen, and then moving to Overwatch. He could also be a player, notably for the French team at the 2016 World Cup, and a commentator for the Overwatch League.

For AlphaCast, life has changed a lot since Overwatch launched, as its viewers remind it. While in some people's minds the game was released yesterday, for others it has accompanied a long period of their lives. Alpha himself realises how much his life, his thinking and the way he creates content has changed in six years.

Lutti was attached to another Blizzard game. He began to gain popularity by putting his energy and editing skills to work on Hearthstone content for Gamers Origin. The release of Overwatch was a real revelation as he pretty much abandoned the card game to focus on the FPS. He has also become a commentator for the Overwatch League and many other competitions since.

As well as playing the game one last time, Lutti also looked back at his past Overwatch-related videos and performances. The opportunity to relive matches such as the famous France vs United Kingdom from 2018 #A with Le6.

Even though both influencers have come back to pay homage to this very special game in their career, the desire to invest in Overwatch 2 is far from being present. It must be said that the very evolution of Overwatch did not necessarily convince them and that they have both detached themselves from the license today.

They are not the only ones. HyPThe captain of the Valorant team of Mandatory, made his first steps in the competition on Shootmania, but it is on Overwatch that he revealed himself as one of the essential players of the French esport scene.

For me, Overwatch has been over for a while, since I changed careers. That said, seeing the end of a game that has done so much for me, where I have so many memories and met so many friends, it's quite something. It's the end of a story, and the beginning of a new one for future Overwatch 2 players.

HyP, Mandatory captain and former player of the French Overwatch team

AlphaCast says it's disappointed that Overwatch 2 is launching without its single-player campaign, even though Blizzard made it the number one argument for the transition from one game to the next. Indeed, Overwatch 2 officially opens its doors tonight at 9pm in France, but it will only have its multiplayer mode. For him, as for many others, this transition looks more like a small patch than a true new iteration of the game, while Blizzard has suspended updates for Overwatch 1 for years to work on this launch. Overwatch 2's famous single-player (and paid) mode is scheduled for release in 2023.

In any case, this is the end of a short but intense era for esports. It remains to be seen whether Overwatch 2 will be able to rekindle the flame.

en_GBEN

Twitch

AlphaCast, HyP et Lutti disent au revoir à Overwatch

C’est la fin d’une ère ! Overwatch, premier du nom, est désormais inaccessible. Ses serveurs ont fermé le 3 octobre à 18h en préparation de la sortie d’Overwatch 2. C’était l’occasion pour AlphaCast, Lutti, HyP et tous ceux que le FPS de Blizzard ont marqué de lui faire leurs adieux en live.

Overwatch a été annoncé en 2014 pour une sortie en 2016. Il était particulièrement attendu des joueurs de tous horizons grâce à l’aura de Blizzard et à une campagne marketing bien ficelée. Un engouement qui a rendu le titre extrêmement populaire sur les réseaux et propulsé des carrières sur Twitch et YouTube, aussi bien côté joueurs que commentateurs et analystes.

AlphaCast a pu jouer sur ces deux tableaux. Il faisait du contenu Guild Wars 2 avec son acolyte Sansu sur O’Gaming avant de dédier son contenu à Star Citizen, puis de se lancer sur Overwatch. Il a pu aussi bien être joueur, notamment pour l’équipe de France à la coupe du monde 2016, que commentateur de l’Overwatch League.

Pour AlphaCast, la vie a bien changé depuis le lancement d’Overwatch, comme le lui rappelle ses viewers. Alors que dans l’esprit de certains, le jeu est sorti hier, pour d’autres, il a accompagné une longue période de leur vie. Alpha réalise lui même à quel point sa vie, sa manière de penser et la manière dont il crée du contenu a évolué en six années.

Lutti était quant à lui attaché à un autre jeu de Blizzard. Il a commencé à gagner en popularité en mettant son énergie et ses talents de monteur au profit de contenu sur Hearthstone pour le compte de Gamers Origin. La sortie d’Overwatch a été une véritable révélation puisqu’il a quasiment abandonné le jeu de cartes pour se dédier au FPS. Il est lui aussi devenu commentateur de l’Overwatch League et de bien d’autres compétitions depuis.

En plus de jouer une dernière fois au jeu, Lutti est aussi revenu sur ses anciennes vidéos et prestations en rapport avec Overwatch. L’occasion de revivre des matchs comme le fameux France vs United Kingdom de 2018 #AvecLe6.

Quand bien même les deux influenceurs sont revenus rendre hommage à ce jeu si particulier dans leur parcours, l’envie de s’investir dans Overwatch 2 est loin d’être présente. Il faut dire que les évolutions même d’Overwatch ne les ont pas forcément convaincu et qu’ils se sont tous les deux détachés de la licence aujourd’hui.

Ils ne sont pas les seuls. HyP, capitaine de l’équipe Valorant de Mandatory, a fait ses premiers pas dans la compétition sur Shootmania, mais c’est sur Overwatch qu’il s’est révélé comme un des joueurs incontournables de la scène esport française.

Pour moi, Overwatch est terminé depuis un moment, puisque j’ai changé de carrière. Ceci dit, voir la fin d’un jeu qui a fait beaucoup pour moi, où j’ai énormément de souvenirs et rencontré tellement de potes, ça fait quelque chose. C’est la fin d’une histoire, et le début d’une nouvelle pour les futurs joueurs d’Overwatch 2.

HyP, capitaine Mandatory et ex-joueur de l’équipe de France d’Overwatch

AlphaCast se dit même assez déçu qu’Overwatch 2 se lance sans sa campagne solo, alors même que Blizzard en faisait l’argument numéro 1 de la transition d’un jeu à l’autre. En effet, Overwatch 2 ouvre officiellement ses portes dès ce soir, à 21h en France, mais il ne disposera que de son mode multijoueur. Pour lui comme pour beaucoup d’autres, cette transition a plus les airs d’un petit patch que d’une véritable nouvelle itération du jeu, alors que Blizzard a suspendu pendant des années les mise à jour d’Overwatch 1 pour travailler sur ce lancement. Le fameux mode solo (et payant) d’Overwatch 2 devrait sortir en 2023.

C’est en tout cas bel et bien la fin d’une époque finalement assez courte, et pourtant très intense pour l’esport. Reste à voir si Overwatch 2 saura raviver la flamme.

fr_FRFR