Pokémon

The Type Table: Strengths and Weaknesses of Pokémon Scarlet and Violet

Being a good Pokémon trainer means knowing the type table inside out! In Pokémon Scarlet and VioletAll Pokémon have one to two different types which affect both their strengths and weaknesses in battle. These types are often even more important than the stats of your Pokémon. Let's take a look at the Type Table and everything there is to know about how the different types work.


What are the types in Pokémon?

A Pokémon's type represents its elemental affinity. It makes it more or less sensitive to opposing attacks. All Pokémon have at least one type. All attacks also have a type. If you choose the right type of attack against a Pokémon, you will cause massive damage. Conversely, choose the wrong type of attack and your damage will be low or non-existent.

In Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, there are 18 types in all:

  • Normal
  • Plant
  • Fire
  • Water
  • Electrick
  • Roche
  • Soil
  • Flight
  • Insect
  • Poison
  • Fight
  • Darkness
  • Psy
  • Spectre
  • Dragon
  • Ice
  • Steel
  • Fairy

Calculate the damage according to the Type

Against a Pokémon with only one type

Calculating damage by type is fairly straightforward at first glance. An attack of a strong type against the type of the targeted Pokémon will do doubled damage. An attack of a weak type against the type of the targeted Pokémon will damage halved. Some types make you immune to attacks and will therefore always do 0 damage. We'll look at the basics before going into much more detail about the involvement of types.

Example 1: Salamèche is a Fire-type Pokémon. It is weak to the Water type, so it takes twice as much damage as a normal Water attack. A Water-type attack like Claw-Mass, which normally does 100 damage, will actually deal 200 damage to Salameche.

Example 2: Let's say that Salamech suffers a Plant attack. His Fire type is resistant to Plant, so he receives half the damage from this attack. A Plant attack that does 100 points of damage will only do 50 points of damage to Salameche.

Example 3: Pikachu launches a Lightning attack on a Sol-type Taupikeur. The Sol type is insensitive to the Electrik type, so the Taupikeur will not suffer any damage, no matter what happens.

That's the basics. Easy, isn't it? Let's go further now.

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet Type Table

Now that you have the basics of the system, here is the Pokémon type table. Learn it well or come back to it regularly, you'll need it for the rest of your adventure in the Pokémon universe!

Pokémon Scarlet Violet - Type Table
Pokémon Scarlet Violet - Type Table

Against a Pokémon with two types

As mentioned in the introduction, Pokémon sometimes have two types. The damage they take is then modified according to both types at the same time. There are six possible scenarios:

  • Both types of target are susceptible to attack: damage x4
  • One type of the target is sensitive to the attack, the other is neither sensitive nor resistant: damage x2
  • One type of the target is susceptible to the attack, but the other type is resistant: damage x1
  • Both types of target are neither sensitive nor resistant to attack: damage x1
  • One type of target is resistant to attack, the other is neither sensitive nor resistant: damage x0.5
  • Both types of target are resistant to attack: damage x0.25
  • One of the target types is immune to the attack type: damage x0

It would be far too long and complex to provide you with type tables of all the available type combinations. To find out how much damage you will do, you need to multiply the type bonus of your attack with the two types of the target.

A few examples to better understand :

Example 1: A Fighting attack on a Rock and Ice Pokémon gives :
[Damage x2 Weakness Rock x2 Weakness Ice] or |Damage x4]

Example 2: A Plant attack on a Psy and Water Pokémon gives :
[Damage x1 Insect x2 Weakness Water] or |Damage x2]

Example 3: A Fire attack on an Insect and Water Pokémon gives :
[Damage x2 Weakness Insect /2 Water resistance] or |Damage x1]

Example 4: A Fire attack on a Fire and Dark Pokémon gives :
[Damage /2 Fire resistance x1 Darkness] i.e. |Damage /2]

Example 5: A Water attack on a Water and Dragon Pokémon gives :
[Damage /2 Water resistance /2 Dragon Resistance] i.e., |Damage /4]

Example 6: An Electrik attack on a Ground and Water Pokémon gives :
[Damage x0 Ground immunity x2 Weakness Water] or |Damage x0]

As you can see, in order to choose the right type of attack against a Pokémon, you'll need to know its two types and calculate the effectiveness of your attacks based on them. This means knowing all 400 different Pokémon in Paldea, not to mention their alternate forms.

Knowing all of this, you'll need to put together heterogeneous teams with various attack types, but also Pokémon of various types. Ideally, you want to have more resistances than weaknesses, so try to find Pokémon with combinations of compatible types.

If you're unsure of a Pokémon's strengths and weaknesses, we recommend checking out our complete Pokémon Scarlet and Violet Pokédex. We've listed the damage for all Pokémon and all attack types.

Advanced Type Mechanics

It's getting a bit complicated, isn't it? Well, we're not done yet! There are still two important things to look at, the STAB and the Teracrystal Type, new to Pokémon Scarlet and Violet.

STAB in Pokémon

STAB is an abbreviation for Same Type Attack Bonus. In French, this is a bonus to your damage if a type of the attacker matches the type of the attack. If the two match, the attack has its damage increased by 50%. The attack is then said to be stabbed.

A Pikachu performing a Lightning Strike with a power of 40 will actually deal 60 points of damage (40 x150%).

This is a key consideration, as Pokémon with a dual type can more easily stab their attack. This is useful in battle to defeat opponents, but be careful not to use stabbed attacks on wild Pokémon if you don't want to knock them out by mistake.

The Teracrystal Type

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet introduce a new mechanic: Teracrystallisation. Once you obtain the Teracrystal Orb, you can reveal a Pokémon's Teracrystal type in battle. With it, you can do even more damage, or surprise your opponent by completely changing its type.

Indeed, the Teracrystal Type comes replace both types of your Pokémon. Usually, a Pokémon's Teracrystal type matches its first type, but this is not always the case. Pokémon obtained in Teracrystal Raids or Pokémon that glow in the wild often have an unusual Teracrystal type. These types are chosen randomly, much like nature.

To find out what type of Teracristal a Pokémon is, simply look at its profile.

The Type Table: strengths and weaknesses of Pokémon Scarlet and Violet - mandatory pokemon scarlet violet guide teracristal 13 - Mandatory.gg

Teracrystallisation boosts the STAB of your attacks. Once Teracrystallised, attacks of the type corresponding to your Teracrystal type will get an additional 50% damage bonus. If your Teracrystal type is the same as one of your two types, then attacks of that type will do 200% of damage. If your Teracrystal type is different from your base types, attacks of this type will do 150% of damage.

When Teracrystallization causes you to take on an atypical type for your Pokémon, you are unlikely to have the attacks of the corresponding types. But what you lose in attack, you can gain in defense, if you are skilled. A Water Pokémon with a Teracrystal type of G becomes immune to Electrik attacks, and thus loses one of its biggest weaknesses when it transforms.


This concludes our guide to types in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet. Of course, there are many other parameters that affect the damage of an attack, starting with the Pokémon's stats, the class of the attack (physical or special), and so on. But that would be getting away from the main topic. We'll talk about it in other guides!


en_GBEN

Pokémon

La Table des Types : les forces et faiblesses de Pokémon Écarlate et Violet

Être un bon dresseur de Pokémon, ça passe par une connaissance impeccable de la table des types ! Dans Pokémon Écarlate et Violet, tous les Pokémon possèdent un à deux types différents qui conditionnent aussi bien leurs forces que leurs faiblesses au combat. Ces types sont souvent plus importants encore que les stats de vos Pokémon. Voyons ensemble la Table des Types et tout ce qu’il y a à savoir sur le fonctionnement des différents types.


C’est quoi les types dans Pokémon ?

Le type d’un Pokémon représente son affinité élémentaire. Il le rend plus ou moins sensible aux attaques adverses. Tous les Pokémon ont au moins un type. Toutes les attaques ont également un type. Si vous choisissez une attaque du bon type contre un Pokémon, vous occasionnerez des dégâts colossaux. A l’inverse, choisissez le mauvais type d’attaque et vos dégâts seront faibles, voire inexistants.

Dans Pokémon Écarlate et Violet, il y a en tout 18 types :

  • Normal
  • Plante
  • Feu
  • Eau
  • Électrick
  • Roche
  • Sol
  • Vol
  • Insecte
  • Poison
  • Combat
  • Ténèbres
  • Psy
  • Spectre
  • Dragon
  • Glace
  • Acier
  • Fée

Calculer les dégâts en fonction du Type

Contre un Pokémon n’ayant qu’un type

Le calcul des dégâts par type est assez simple au premier abord. Une attaque d’un type fort contre le type du Pokémon ciblé fera des dégâts doublés. Une attaque d’un type faible contre le type du Pokémon ciblé fera des dégâts divisés par deux. Certains types rendent insensibles aux attaques et feront donc toujours 0 de dégâts. Nous allons voir les bases avant d’aller bien plus en détail sur l’implication des types.

Exemple 1 : Salamèche est un Pokémon de type Feu. Il est faible face au type Eau et reçoit donc deux fois plus de dégâts que la normale des attaques de type Eau. Une attaque de type Eau comme Pince-Masse qui fait normalement 100 points de dégâts, infligera en fait 200 points de dégâts au Salamèche.

Exemple 2 : Imaginons que Salamèche subisse une attaque de type Plante. Son type Feu est résistant à la Plante, il reçoit donc deux fois moins de dégâts de cette attaque. Une attaque Plante qui fait 100 points de dégats ne fera que 50 points de dégâts à Salamèche.

Exemple 3 : Pikachu lance une attaque Éclair sur un Taupikeur de type Sol. Le type Sol est insensible au type Électrik, le Taupikeur ne subira donc aucun dégât, quoi qu’il arrive.

Ca, c’est la base. Facile non ? Allons plus loin désormais.

La Table des Types de Pokémon Écarlate et Violet

Maintenant que vous avez la base du système, voici la table des types de Pokémon. Apprenez la bien ou revenez régulièrement la consulter, vous en aurez besoin pour la suite, et même pour toute votre aventure dans l’univers de Pokémon !

Pokémon Ecarlate Violet - La Table des Types
Pokémon Ecarlate Violet – La Table des Types

Contre un Pokémon ayant deux types

Comme nous l’avons dit en introduction, les Pokémon ont parfois deux types. Les dégâts qu’ils subissent sont alors modifiés en fonction des deux types à la fois. Il y a alors 6 cas de figure :

  • Les deux types de la cible sont sensibles à l’attaque : dégâts x4
  • Un type de la cible est sensible à l’attaque, l’autre n’est ni sensible, ni résistant : dégats x2
  • Un type de la cible est sensible à l’attaque, mais l’autre type est résistant : dégâts x1
  • Les deux types de la cible ne sont ni sensibles, ni résistants à l’attaque : dégâts x1
  • Un type de la cible est résistant à l’attaque, l’autre n’est ni sensible, ni résistant : dégats x0,5
  • Les deux types de la cible sont résistants à l’attaque : dégâts x0,25
  • Un des types de la cible immunise au type de l’attaque : dégâts x0

Il serait bien trop long et complexe de vous fournir des tables des types de toutes les combinaisons de types disponibles. Pour savoir le nombre de dégâts que vous allez faire, vous devez multiplier les bonus de types de votre attaque avec les deux types de la cible.

Quelques exemples pour mieux comprendre :

Exemple 1 : Une attaque Combat sur un Pokémon Roche et Glace donne :
[Dégats x2 Faiblesse Roche x2 Faiblesse Glache] soit |Dégâts x4]

Exemple 2 : Une attaque Plante sur un Pokémon Psy et Eau donne :
[Dégats x1 Insecte x2 Faiblesse Eau] soit |Dégâts x2]

Exemple 3 : Une attaque Feu sur un Pokémon Insecte et Eau donne :
[Dégats x2 Faiblesse Insecte /2 Résistance Eau] soit |Dégâts x1]

Exemple 4 : Une attaque Feu sur un Pokémon Feu et Ténèbres donne :
[Dégats /2 Résistance Feu x1 Ténèbres] soit |Dégâts /2]

Exemple 5 : Une attaque Eau sur un Pokémon Eau et Dragon donne :
[Dégats /2 Résistance Eau /2 Résistance Dragon] soit |Dégâts /4]

Exemple 6 : Une attaque Electrik sur un Pokémon Sol et Eau donne :
[Dégats x0 Immunité Sol x2 Faiblesse Eau] soit |Dégâts x0]

Vous l’aurez compris, pour choisir le bon type d’attaque contre un Pokémon, vous allez devoir connaître ses deux types et calculer l’efficacité de vos attaques en fonction. Cela implique de connaître les 400 Pokémon différents de Paldea, sans même parler de leurs formes alternatives.

Sachant tout cela, vous allez devoir constituer des équipes hétérogènes avec des attaques de types variés, mais aussi des Pokémon de types variés. L’idéal reste d’avoir bien plus de résistances que de faiblesses, essayez donc de trouver des Pokémon ayant des combinaisons de types compatibles.

Si vous n’êtes pas sûr des forces et faiblesses d’un Pokémon, nous vous conseillons de consulter notre Pokédex complet de Pokémon Écarlate et Violet. Nous y avons renseignés les dégâts subits pour tous les Pokémon et pour tous les types d’attaque.

Mécaniques avancées des Types

Ca commence légèrement à se compliquer, n’est-ce pas ? Eh bien nous n’avons pas encore terminé ! Il reste deux points importants à voir, le STAB et le Type Téracristal, nouveauté de Pokémon Écarlate et Violet.

Le STAB dans Pokémon

Le STAB est une abréviation anglaise de Same Type Attack Bonus. En français, il s’agit d’un bonus accordé à vos dégâts si un type du lanceur de l’attaque correspond au type de l’attaque. Si les deux correspondent, l’attaque voit ses dégâts augmentés de 50%. On dit alors de l’attaque qu’elle est stabbée.

Un Pikachu réalisant une attaque Éclair d’une puissance de 40 va en fait infliger 60 points de dégâts (40 x150%).

C’est un élément essentiel à prendre en compte, puisque les Pokémon ayant un double type peuvent plus facilement stabber leur attaque. C’est utile au combat pour battre des adversaires, mais attention à ne pas utiliser des attaques stabbées sur des Pokémon sauvages si vous ne voulez pas les mettre K.O. par erreur.

Le Type Téracristal

Pokémon Écarlate et Violet introduisent une nouvelle mécanique : la Téracristalisation. Une fois l’Orbre Téracristal obtenu, vous allez pouvoir révéler le type Téracristal d’un Pokémon au combat. Grâce à lui, vous pourrez faire encore plus de dégâts, ou surprendre votre adversaire en changeant complètement de type.

En effet, le Type Téracristal vient remplacer les deux types de votre Pokémon. Généralement, le type Téracristal d’un Pokémon correspond à son premier type, mais ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Les Pokémon obtenus dans les Raids Téracristal ou les Pokémon qui scintillent dans la nature ont souvent un type Téracristal hors du commun. Ces types sont choisis aléatoirement, un peu à la manière de la nature.

Pour connaître le type Téracristal d’un Pokémon, il suffit de consulter son profil.

La Table des Types : les forces et faiblesses de Pokémon Écarlate et Violet - mandatory pokemon ecarlate violet guide teracristal 13 - Mandatory.gg

La Téracristallisation vient renforcer le STAB de vos attaques. Une fois Téracristalisé, les attaques du type correspondant à votre type Téracristal auront droit à un bonus additionnel de 50% de dégâts. Si votre type Téracristal est le même que l’un de vos deux types, les attaques de ce type feront alors 200% de dégats. Si votre type Téracristal est différents de vos types de base, les attaques de ce type feront 150% de dégâts.

Lorsque la Téracristallisation vous fait prendre un type atypique pour votre Pokémon, il y a peu de chances que vous disposiez des attaques des types correspondants. Mais ce que vous perdez en attaque, vous pouvez le gagner en défense, si vous êtes habiles. Un Pokémon Eau dont le type Téracristal est le Sol devient insensible aux attaques Électrik et se débarrasse donc d’une de ses plus grosses faiblesses lorsqu’il se transforme.


Ceci conclu notre guide sur les types dans Pokémon Écarlate et Violet. Bien entendu, il y a énormément d’autres paramètres qui conditionnent les dégâts d’une attaque, à commencer par les statistiques du Pokémon, la classe de l’attaque (physique ou spéciale), etc. Mais on s’éloignerait du sujet principal. On en parlera donc dans d’autres guides !


fr_FRFR