Valorant Champions Tour 2023: Format and Stages

For two years now, Valorant has been played at the professional level. The Valorant Champions Tour is the official competitive circuit for Riot Games' FPS. This year, the overall format of the VCT is changing, but the goal of the thirty franchised teams remains the same. They will all try to earn a place in the Valorant Champions and lift the ultimate trophy. In this article, we explain what you need to know about the different stages of the circuit.

The different stages of the Valorant Champions Tour 2023

The LOCK//IN Brazil

Previous editions of the VCT began with a first Split in each of the three regions EMEA, Pacific and Americas. With the establishment of the franchise and the three new Major Leagues, Riot Games has chosen to turn this first Split into a special event: the LOCK//IN Brazil.

Initially called the Kickoff Tournament, this tournament will include all teams at Ginásio do Ibirapuera in São Paulo. At the moment, we have little information about the format of this first tournament of the year. However, we already know that it will include several weeks of competition and will conclude with the first ever international final of 2023. Also, the winning team will offer their own League an additional place for the Masters.

The League Segment

As mentioned above, the VCT used to be characterised by splits, called Challengers. From now on, we talk about League segments. If the first segment of the year 2023 will not happen to offer an unparalleled show with the LOCK//IN Brazil, it will return in the following years.

The VCT 2023 therefore does only include only one regular season phase, which will last 8 weeks. It is an internal competition of each major league. There is no need to qualify. All franchise teams are involved in their respective League.

The best will earn their place in the Main Event. Then the playoffs will determine which of them will acquire a slot for the Masters.

The Valorant Masters

The Masters are international tournaments. In contrast to previous years, this VCT consists of only one VCT. It will bring together the teams from each League, which have been the most successful during the League Segment Main Event. After a group phase, the teams that qualified for the playoffs will compete in a double elimination tree.

This stage offers an additional Last Chance Qualifier slot to the League or Region that wins the Masters.

The Last Chance Qualifier

As the name suggests, this tournament offers one last chance teams to reach Valorant Champions. Teams taking part in the Last Chance Qualifier are those who did not perform well enough in the League segment to pre-qualify for Valorant Champions. Participants compete directly against each other in a double-elimination tree.

The winner of each LCQ, as well as the other League finalist who has been awarded an extra slot, will earn a place in the final tournament.

The Valorant Champions

The Valorant Champions corresponds to the Valorant World Championship. Unlike previous years, the sixteen qualified teams are not selected via a circuit points system, but by their performances during the League segment or through the Last Chance Qualifier. Chinese teams have a special Qualifierwhich will take place ahead of the Valorant Champions.

The tournament starts with a group phase. During the playoffs, the teams compete in a double-elimination tree.

The first edition was won by Acend players. LOUD took the trophy this year. We look forward to seeing you at the end of September to find out who will write their name in the history of Valorant in 2023.